Award for Distinction in Teaching - 2014 winners

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Congratulations to Professors Penny Haxell and Javid Ali, winners of the 2014 Faculty of Mathematics Award for Distinction in Teaching!

Professor Haxell has received consistent applause from her peers and students for not only being an effective instructor with high standards but, for being a teacher that inspires enthusiasm for the material she teaches. Her lighthearted nature and logical, straightforward manner have made her a favourite among students.

Professor Ali is known as a versatile instructor, teaching courses in both statistics and actuarial science, across all course levels. Professor Ali connects with his students by engaging their curiosity towards the material through well-structured lectures, supplementary course materials, and going above and beyond to ensure their success.  

Chair of the award selection committee, Serge D'Alessio, notes that these exceptional teachers will be recognized at the Fall Faculty Banquet in September for their dedication to the Faculty.

Haxell and Ali join 14 past recipients of the Faculty of Mathematics Award for Distinction in Teaching since its inception:

  • 2013 – Yu Ru Liu and Dan Wolczuk
  • 2012 - Stephen New and Levent Tuncel
  • 2011 – J.P. Pretti and Jeffrey Shallit
  • 2010 – Serge D’Alessio and Alfred Menezes
  • 2009 – Ian Goulden and Troy Vasiga
  • 2008 – Robin Cohen and David McKinnon
  • 2007 – Beverly Marshman and Ian VanderBurgh

Nominate your outstanding Faculty of Mathematics teacher for this award!