Mario Coniglio named next Chair of the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences

Wednesday, June 30, 2021

Mario Coniglio.The Faculty of Science is pleased to welcome Professor Mario Coniglio as the next Chair of the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, effective July 1st, 2021. He is taking over from Professor David Rudolph, who served as the department chair from 2016 to 2021. 

Professor Coniglio has been in the department since 1986 and has served in multiple administrative roles at the University of Waterloo over the years. Most recently he served as the Associate Vice-President, Academic from 2013 to 2019. Professor Coniglio has also previously served as the Earth and Environmental Sciences department chair from 2004 – 2005.  

The Faculty would like to thank Professor Rudolph for his contributions and exemplary service as the Chair of the Earth and Environmental Sciences department over the last 5 years. His contributions to the department and his efforts are greatly appreciated.