School of Computer Science committee membership is appointed annually. For detailed information about the governance of the School and its committees see SharePoint.

Committee Chair Administrative Support
Computer Science Council Anna Lubiw Tracy Dietrich
Awards Jimmy Lin Diana Timmermans
Commons Dave Tompkins Jo-Ann Hardy
Graduate Recruitment Ihab Ilyas Jessica Rosa-Vecchiarelli
Graduate Studies George Labahn Graduate Office
Peer Teaching Peter van Beek Tracy Dietrich
School Advisory Committee on Appointments (SACA) Ken Salem Jo-Ann Hardy
Tenure and Promotion Mark Giesbrecht Tracy Dietrich
Undergraduate Academic Plans Mark Giesbrecht Undergraduate Office
Undergraduate Recruiting Michael Godfrey Jessica Rosa-Vecchiarelli
Women in Computer Science (WiCS)

Maura Grossman

Tammy Vucicevich

Committee mandates

Computer Science Council: Administrative matters that require approval of the School shall be brought before the Computer Science Council. A minimal schedule for Council meetings shall include one meeting in each of September, October, November, January, February, March, May, June and July. Meetings shall normally be held on the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 3:30 p.m. The agenda for each meeting shall be announced in advance of the meeting.

Awards Committee: Considers candidates for faculty and student awards and may prepare nomination materials. Awards are celebrated at the School’s Annual Award ceremony. 

Commons Committee: Responsible for fostering community spirit in the School. 

Graduate Recruitment Committee: Responsible for all matters related to recruiting students to Computer Science graduate programs.

Graduate Studies Committee: Responsible for all matters related to graduate students studies in Computer Science. This committee organizes the following 6 working committees: 

  • Scholarships: Responsible for award of scholarships to graduate students.
  • Annual review: Responsible for the annual review of the performance of graduate students.
  • Pool admission: Responsible for proposing changes to graduate admissions procedures.
  • Website review: Responsible for proposing changes to graduate web pages.
  • Online teaching: Responsible for investigating online teaching of graduate courses.
  • Admissions: Responsible for aiding the Associate Director of Graduate studies in admission decisions.

Peer Teaching: Performs peer teaching evaluations. In 2011, the School decided to form a committee to do these evaluations, to ensure some consistency and experience among the evaluating faculty.

School Advisory Committee on Appointments (SACA): Responsible for recruiting new faculty members who will hold regular appointments, with a structure and mandate subject to University Policy #76.

Tenure and Promotion Committee: Considers re-appointment, promotion, and tenure for all faculty members, with a structure and mandate subject to University Policy #77

Undergraduate Academic Plans Committee: Responsible for overseeing the maintenance and development of the undergraduate curriculum for the School of Computer Science. The committee manages the degree requirements of the various major and minor plans in Computer Science, and the calendar descriptions of Computer Science courses.

Undergraduate Recruiting Committee: Responsible for all matters related to recruiting students to Computer Science undergraduate programs.

WiCS: Responsible in building an environment in the School of Computer Science where women are supported in their work and studies. To ensure that young women entering university see computer science as an option. To connect to outside organizations and events for women in computer science.