Information for

You are here


Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Anti-smoking measures saved 22 million lives in past decade

Anti-smoking measures saved 22 million lives in past decade

Read more about the work being done by the International Tobacco Control Policy Evaluation Project, headed by Dr. Geoff Fong.  

Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Geoff Fong will present at CIHR Trailblazer Awards

UW Psychology's Geoff Fong  is one of the featured speakers at the CIHR Trailblazer Awards will be presented on September 24, 2018 at York University.  The awards support early-, mid- and senior-career researchers who continue to make exceptional contributions that promote population and public health for Canadians and citizens around the world through evidenced-based health policies as well as interventions. 

Friday, September 14, 2018

UW Psychology Department Research Team wins the Ig Nobel award

For the second time in a few years, this Department has a research team that has won the Ig Nobel!  This time it’s Lindie Liang, Doug Brown, Huiwen Lian, Samuel Hanig, Lance Ferris, and Lisa Keeping in the I/O Area.  The Ig Nobel awards celebrate work that “first makes people laugh, and then makes them think”.  You can read all about it at The Guardian.

Monday, September 10, 2018

Voting for the losing side can affect your performance at work

Companies should avoid scheduling important work tasks immediately following an election, according to a study from the University of Waterloo.

Researchers discovered the outcome of a U.S. presidential election can affect employees’ engagement and performance at work — if they voted for the losing side. Although experts have long known that ongoing family issues and other stresses can affect the workplace, less is known about the effect of more discrete events.

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Geoff Fong is one of the Highly Cited Researchers of 2018

In the just-released list of "Highly Cited Researchers" for 2018, there are 5 University of Waterloo faculty members.  The list is comprised of those researchers who have published the greatest number of highly cited scientific articles in their respective fields (the number of scientific articles that are ranked in the top 1% of articles in the field). This is a well-respected and recognized list; Clarivate runs Web of Science, citation indexes, etc. 

Here are the 5 University of Waterloo researchers on the 2018 list:

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Geoff Fong is the co-recipient of the 2018 Ochsner Award.


Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Chair's Welcome

It is my privilege to serve as Chair of the Department of Psychology here at the University of Waterloo.  Psychology at UW is home to over 40 exceptional professors, all of whom are dedicated to outstanding teaching and world class research.  We also have over 120 terrific graduate students pursuing MA and PhD degrees.  And we have an amazing staff devoted to all of our students, undergradu

Thursday, June 28, 2018

Colin MacLeod awarded Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Lifetime Contributions to Canadian Psychology.

Congratulations to Colin MacLeod, the Chair of the Psychology Department, who recently received the highest honour from the Canadian Psychological Association , the Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Lifetime Contributions to Canadian Psychology. 

Thursday, April 26, 2018

Dana Komer awarded the 2018 Arts Award for "Excellence in Service"

Dana Komer

Dana was recognized at the 2018 Celebration of Arts for her stellar work as the ITC Administrative manager over the years. 

The awards were presented on Wednesday April 25th in Founder Hall of Hagey Hall. 

Dr. Geoff Fong, Chief Principal Investigator of ITC, Department of Psychology, stated:

  1. 2018 (15)
    1. October (1)
    2. September (6)
    3. June (1)
    4. April (5)
    5. March (2)
  2. 2017 (32)
    1. November (3)
    2. October (2)
    3. September (2)
    4. August (1)
    5. July (5)
    6. June (8)
    7. May (6)
    8. March (3)
    9. February (1)
    10. January (1)
  3. 2016 (47)
    1. November (4)
    2. October (4)
    3. September (7)
    4. August (2)
    5. July (2)
    6. June (9)
    7. May (3)
    8. April (8)
    9. March (2)
    10. February (2)
    11. January (4)
  4. 2015 (39)
  5. 2014 (24)
  6. 2013 (1)
  7. 2010 (2)
  8. 2009 (2)
  9. 2008 (1)