External Awards

External teaching awards honour excellence in teaching and leadership. Nominate an outstanding instructor for a prestigious external teaching award and raise the profile of excellence in teaching at Waterloo.

External teaching awards offer recipients the unique opportunity to contribute to broad educational change through participation in cross-disciplinary educational conferences and forums. The five awards listed below are well recognized in Canada and beyond.

Award Recognition of: Deadline
Alan Blizzard Award (biennial) Collaborative initiatives and team-teaching

February 15, 2019

D2L Innovation Award (annual) Innovative approaches to teaching January 20, 2019
OCUFA Teaching Award (annual) Ontario’s exemplary instructors who are also educational scholars and leaders May
Reimagine Education Awards (annual) Excellence in teaching in multiple categories, including teaching delivery, innovation, and more July
3M National Teaching Fellowship (annual) Canada’s exemplary instructors who are also educational scholars and leaders. September

Calls for nominations are usually announced three months in advance of the deadline. Feedback from successful nominees at the University of Waterloo tells us that setting aside a six-to-three month window for preparing a nomination is a good practice. 


Contact Alisa Sivak to learn about how CTE can support the nomination process.   

Selecting the right award for an exceptional instructor

It can be difficult to determine which award is the right fit for a nominee or nominees. Click on one of the following pathways to navigate the five external award programs.  

Waterloo external award recipients, 1980-Present 

Year Name Faculty Award
2017 Steven Bednarski Arts D2L
2017 Gordon Stubley Engineering 3M
2016  Carol Hulls Engineering D2L
2012 Robert Sproule Arts D2L
2010 Alan Morgan Environment 3M
2009 Gordon Stubley Engineering OCUFA
2007 Rohan Jayasundera Science LIFT (inactive)
2007 Gord Stubley Engineering LIFT (inactive)
2004 Howard Armitage Arts 3M
2004 Jean Andrey Environment OCUFA
2000 Ronald George Scoins Mathematics OCUFA
1993 Phyllis Forsyth Arts OCUFA
1987  Donald Irish Science OCUFA
1986 Ralph Krueger Environment 3M
1979 Laurence Cummings Engineering OCUFA
1975 Paul Seligman Arts OCUFA
1975  Hugh MacKinnon Arts OCUFA
1973 Park Reilly Engineering OCUFA