Information for

The offices of CTE will be closed on Thursday, May 17 for our staff PD day. 

The elevator in Environment 1 (EV1) is shut down for maintenance from April 23 to May 25, 2018. During this time, the only way to access CTE’s offices on the third floor of EV1 is by the stairs. We are happy to arrange an alternative meeting place for CTE meetings if requested. For directions to our workshop spaces (EV1 241 and 242) via the elevator in EV3, please visit our Location page. We invite you to contact us if you have any questions or concerns. 

Certificate in University Teaching Award

The Certificate in University Teaching (CUT) Award is given annually to a graduate student who shows a strong commitment to their development as a university teacher and demonstrates the highest achievement on completion of the CUT program. Jointly administered by the Centre for Teaching Excellence (CTE) and the Graduate Studies and Postdoctoral Affairs (GSPA), this award serves to acknowledge the importance of teaching development efforts by Waterloo’s graduate students. The CUT Award is open to all graduate students who have completed the Certificate in University Teaching Program. As the winner is determined internally, no application is required and self-nominations are not accepted.  Selection is made jointly by CTE and GSPA and the winner is announced in April. The Award consists of a book on university teaching and a cash award. Funding for the CUT award is provided by GSPA.

Past CUT Award Recipients

Year Name Department Faculty
2018 Caitlin Scott

Environment, Resources and Sustainability

2017 Amanda Garcia  Systems Design Engineering Engineering
2016 Alexander Howse Applied Mathematics Mathematics
2015 Marzieh Riahinezhad Chemical Engineering Engineering

Carlos Moreno

Electrical & Computer Engineering Engineering
2013 Rachel Murdy Campbell Chemical Engineering Engineering
2012 Reza Ramezan Statistics & Actuarial Science Mathematics
2011 Dinushan Nesan Biology Science
2010 Ramila Peiris Chemical Engineering Engineering

Mareike Müller

Germanic & Slavic Studies Arts
2008 Diana Chisholm Statistics & Actuarial Science Mathematics
2007 Trent Tucker Management Sciences Engineering
2006 Veronica Austen English Arts