Facilitators

Katherine LithgowKatherine Lithgow

Centre for Teaching Excellence (CTE)

Email:klithgow@uwaterloo.ca

Brendan Wylie-ToalBrendan Wylie-Toal

United College

Email:bwylieto@uwaterloo.ca

 
Wayne ChangWayne Chang

Conrad School of Entreprenurship and Business

Email:wchang@uwaterloo.ca

 
 

Participants

Micheal BoehringerMichael Boehringer

Arts- Germanic and Slavic Studies

Email:mboehrin@uwaterloo.ca

Matt Borland Matt Borland

Systems Design Engineering

Email:mathew.borland@uwaterloo.ca

 
 
Tracy HilpertTracy Hilpert

School of Accounting and Finance

Email:thilpert@uwaterloo.ca

Narveen JanduNarveen Jandu

School of Public Health

Email:njandu@uwaterloo.ca

 
 
Erin JobidonErin Jobidon

Student Success Office (SSO)

Email:ejobidon@uwaterloo.ca

Luna KhirfanLuna Khirfan

Environment- School of Planning

Email:lkhirfan@uwaterloo.ca

 
 
Sandra Lopez RochaSandra- Lopez Rocha

Student Success Office (SSO)

Email:s.lopezrocha@uwaterloo.ca

Carolyn Macgregor Carolyn MacGregor

Systems Design Engineering

Email:carolyn.macgregor@uwaterloo.ca

 
Mariam MuftiMariam Mufti

Arts- Political Science

Email:mmufti@uwaterloo.ca

Elena NeitermanElena Nieterman

School of Public Health

Email:eneiterman@uwaterloo.ca

 
 
Steffanie ScottSteffanie Scott

Environment-Geography

Email:sdscott@uwaterloo.ca

Mary RobinsonMary Robinson

Engineering

Email:mary.robinson@uwaterloo.ca

 
 
Diane Williams Diane Williams

School of Public Health

Email:diane.williams@uwaterloo.ca

Pia ZeniPia Zeni

Centre for Extended Learning (CEL)

Email:pia.zeni@uwaterloo.ca

 
 

Robinson, M., MacGregor, C. & Lithgow, K. (2022, April 27). SLICCs and the importance of reflecting in community. University of Waterloo Teaching and Learning Conference. Online.

Chang, W., Wylie-Toal, B., & Lithgow, K. (2022, April 28).  Evaluating a new student-centric experiential learning approach for entrepreneurship education: the impact of SLICCs (student-led individually-created courses) on student learning outcomes. University of Waterloo Teaching and Learning Conference. Poster.

Yessis, J. (2022, April 28).  Student Partners in the Learning Process - Integrating Elements of the SLICC Model into the MPH Capstone Course. University of Waterloo Teaching and Learning Conference. Online.

Jandu, N. & Williams, D. (2022, April 28). Adopting the SLICC model to Independent Study Credits for Health Science Students. University of Waterloo Teaching and Learning Conference. Online.

Lithgow, K., Robinson, M., Williams, D., McBay, M. & Chang, W. (2022, April 28). Reflection, Community and Student Led Independently Created Courses: Student and Instructor Perspectives. University of Waterloo Teaching and Learning Conference. Panel. Centre for Teaching Excellence (CTE) website

Lithgow, K., Wylie, B. Chang, W. & Aubrey K. (2021, November 04). The Impact of SLICCs (Student-Led Individually Created Courses) On Student Learning. Centre for Teaching Excellence. Retrieved from: https://uwaterloo.ca/centre-for-teaching- excellence/workshop-resources/integrative-and-experiential-education-series/2021-integrative-and-experiential-learning-series

Student Led Individually Created Courses (2022). Website (under construction). https://uwaterloo.ca/centre-for-teaching-excellence/support/integrative-learning/student-  led-individually-created-courses-learning-community

  1. At the national and/or international levels (e.g., presenting at conferences beyond uWaterloo; impact on discipline)

Riley, S., McCabe, G., Lithgow, K.& Evans. C. (2022, February 22). The student’s role in co-creation of their own learning outcomes, and their assessment. Panel presentation at e-interdisciplinary Network for Research-Informed Assessment Practices (INRAP). Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom

Riley, S., McCabe, G., Lithgow, K.& Evans. C. (2022, April). The student’s role in co-creation of their own learning outcomes and assessment. Panel presentation hosted by PebblePad.  

Chang, W. (2022, TBD). Engineering Entrepreneurship Education with Student-Led Individually Created Course (SLICC) Teaching Model in Venture Creation course. Canadian Engineering Education Association (CEEA) conference. Program forthcoming.

Robinson, M., & Lithgow, K. (2022, TBD). Joining Students on Their SLICCs Journey. Canadian Engineering Education Association (CEEA) conference. Also available, here.