Menthol cigarettes

The federal government prohibited menthol additives in cigarettes as of October 2, 2017.viii Prior to the federal legislation, seven provinces had already adopted bans on flavoured tobacco including menthol: Nova Scotia (May 31, 2015), Alberta (Sept. 20, 2015), New Brunswick (Jan. 1, 2016), Quebec (Aug. 26, 2016), Ontario (Jan. 1, 2017), PEI (May 1, 2017), and Newfoundland and Labrador (July 1, 2017).x

Note: Use of menthol cigarettes was reported in the previous edition, but is not included on the CTNS.

Note: Exposure to secondhand smokre was reported in previous editions, but is not included on the CTNS.