Faculty members in Recreation and Leisure Studies have received significant honours in recognition of their teaching contributions, including:

Distinguished Teaching Award, University of Waterloo

The Distinguished Teaching Award was established by the Senate of the University of Waterloo in December 1975 to recognize the importance of excellence in teaching at all levels in the University. Recipients are nominated and selected bya committee of faculty and students, with three awards typically given each year.

Ron McCarville, 2003

Faculty of Health Teaching Award

The Faculty of Health Teaching Award honours teaching excellence among full time faculty, instructional staff, lecturers, clinical teachers, and demonstrators. Typically one award is presented annually.

Zara Rafferty, 2018
Luke Potwarka, 2014

Faculty of Health Graduate Mentorship Award

Katie Misener, 2020, Senior Graduate Mentorship Award

Excellence in Teaching Award, The Academy of Leisure Sciences

Corey Johnson, 2016

Innovation in Teaching Award, The Academy of Leisure Sciences

Karla Boluk and Corey Johnson, 2019

Most Inspirational Lecturer Award, Ulster Business School/University of Ulster

Karla Boluk, 2014

Excellence in Service Learning Award, University of Georgia

Corey Johnson, 2013