Discipline, standings and appeals

Disciplinary action is left to the discretion of Co-operative Education (CE) and your faculty.

If you are assigned a US (Unemployed, Student Arranged), UU (Unemployed, On Own - University Imposed) or Failed Work Term, have discussed this with your co-op advisor and remain dissatisfied with this result, you may choose to proceed with an official appeal. (Review the list and explanation of the co-op statuses which are assigned to you throughout your enrolment in the co-operative education process.)

Refer to the Student Petitions and Grievances Policy (Policy #70). Please review the material carefully and note that you will be required to articulate clearly, in writing, why you feel an exception is warranted in your case. You may submit your completed package with supporting documentation – either a Petition or a Grievance as outlined within Policy #70 - directly to:

Director, Student & Faculty Relations

c/o             

Records Coordinator

Co-operative and Experiential Education

cecaura@uwaterloo.ca

Policy 70 submissions will be reviewed monthly within CE. Please find the submission deadlines and Committee Meeting dates for the term listed below.

Policy 70 - Student Petitions and Grievances

Spring 2019

Submissions Due Committee Meeting Date
Monday, July 15 Week of July 22
Monday, August 12 Week of August 19

Fall 2019

Submissions Due Committee Meeting Date
Monday, September 16 Week of September 23
Monday, October 14 Week of October 21
Monday, November 18 Week of November 25
Monday, December 9 Week of December 16

Winter 2020

Submissions Due Committee Meeting Date
Monday, January 13 Week of January 20
Monday, February 3 Week of February 10
Monday, March 16 Week of March 23
Monday, April 13 Week of April 20

Spring 2020

Submissions Due Committee Meeting Date
Monday, May 11 Week of May 18
Monday, June 15 Week of June 22
Monday, July 13 Week of July 20
Monday, August 10 Week of August 17

Final decisions will be communicated to students within the week following the scheduled committee meeting.