Dean of Engineering

Pearl Sullivan is Waterloo Engineering’s eighth dean of engineering.  She is the first woman to hold the post and just the fourth across Canada to head an engineering faculty.

Pearl SullivanSullivan, who was named dean in July 2012 and was reappointed in June 2017 for a second term of three years, has had a distinguished academic career.

She earned a bachelor of engineering with distinction and a master of applied science in metallurgical engineering from the Technical University of Nova Scotia. In 1990, she received her PhD from the metals and materials engineering department at the University of British Columbia.

She holds a Professional Engineer designation from Professional Engineers Ontario, and is a Chartered Engineer and Fellow of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (FIMMM) in the United Kingdom. Before joining the University of Waterloo, she was a professor of mechanical engineering at the University of New Brunswick, and a lecturer and visiting professor at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore.

Sullivan came to University of Waterloo in 2004 as a professor of mechanical engineering and served as chair of the mechanical and mechatronics engineering department from 2006 until January 2012. She is the founding director of Waterloo's collaborative graduate program in nanotechnology within the faculties of engineering and science. In 2009, she received the Outstanding Performance Award from Waterloo, and twice received the University of New Brunswick Faculty Merit Award for Excellence.

"Waterloo Engineering wants to be the destination of choice for talent. We will create more opportunities for our students to reach their career aspirations in practice, research or entrepreneurship," says Sullivan. "The role of staff in supporting our students is critical, as our faculty members continue to shape education and technological innovations in Canada and around the world.”

Engineering Deans

  • Doug Wright 1958 - 1959 (acting), 1959-1966
  • Archie Sherbourne 1966-1974
  • Wally McLaughlin 1974-1982
  • Bill Lennox 1982-1990
  • David Burns 1990-1998
  • Sujeet Chaudhuri 1998-2003
  • Adel Sedra 2003-June 2012
  • Leo Rothenburg (acting) July 2008-June 2009
  • Pearl Sullivan - current dean