Internal Waterloo Awards

Internal funding is financial support provided by the University of Waterloo. Internal funds consist of entrance awards, scholarships, and faculty/departmental level awards.

  • Entrance awards are awards that students will be automatically considered for, if they meet the selection criteria. The Faculty of Engineering has three entrance awards.
  • Scholarships require students to submit an application. The main criteria is your academic record and research accomplishments.
  • Faculty/departmental level awards are provided by the Faculty of Engineering. Students may need to apply through their department or will be automatically considered, if they meet the selection criteria.

Use the GSPA awards database if you would like to learn more about internal funding options available at the University of Waterloo. If you have any questions or concerns about specific internal funding, please reach out to your Department Graduate Coordinator. 

Find below some of the awards that we would like to highlight for you.
Please review all the details carefully to ensure that you meet the eligibility requirements.

Entrance Awards

Students are automatically considered for the DEA and PDEAW entrance awards if they meet the selection criteria. Students are automatically awarded the PGS if they receive one of the following external scholarships - NSERC, CIHR, SSHRC and OGS. For the IBET award, students must apply when submitting their application to the University of Waterloo. 

Engineering Dean's Entrance Award (DEA) - valued at $5,000.

Provost Doctoral Entrance Award - Women (PDEAW) - valued at $5,000.

President's Graduate Scholarship (PGS) valued at up to $10,000

Indigenous and Black Engineering and Technology (IBET) Momentum Fellowship - valued at $30,000.

Collaborative Interdisciplinary Program awards

The University of Waterloo offers financial support to full-time graduate students registered in a Collaborative Interdisciplinary Program in the Faculty of Engineering. Find more awards in the Funding and awards database. 

RBC Water Scholars Graduate Entrance Scholarship - valued at $5000 for master's students and $10,000 for Doctoral students.

Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology (WIN) NanoFellowships - valued at $10,000.

Raymond Laflamme and Janice Gregson Graduate Scholarship for Women in Quantum Information Science  - valued at $7,500.

Departmental level awards

Departmental level awards are provided by the Faculty of Engineering. Students must apply through their department or will be automatically considered, if they meet the selection criteria.Find out more in the funding and awards database.


Scholarships are based on academic merit and accomplishments. Please ensure that you review all the eligibility criteria and application requirements for the following scholarships. Find more graduate scholarships in the Funding and awards database. 

Dr. M. Chandrashekar Memorial Award in Sustainable Energy - no funds available this year. This award is not distributed annually as it is dependent on receiving sufficient funds each year.

Alumni - Undergraduate Waterloo students

To be considered for the following awards, students must currently be enrolled in undergraduate studies and wanting to pursue graduate studies at the University of Waterloo.

Carl Pollock Postgraduate Fellowship - valued at the equivalent of the Tri Agency (NSERC, PGS-D) award.

Iron Ring Graduate Scholarship - valued at a max of $5,000. 


International agreements and sponsorships programs

  • Waterloo's collaborative approach to internationalization has been formalized in numerous agreements with institutions in many countries. 
  • If you are applying for graduate studies under one of these formal agreements, please review Waterloo's sponsorship requirements which are an important part of your application process.