Meet our Postdoctoral Fellows

Chemical Engineering

Anirban Banerjee

Photo of Anirban

Email: a57baner@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E6-4114

Research Areas:

  • Molecular Biology
  • Biotechnology
  • Synthetic Biology
  • Microbiology

Ashna Rajeev

Photo

Email: a5rajeev@uwaterloo.ca

Location:  E6-1104

Research Areas:

  • Polymer Nanocomposites
  • Smart and Functional Materials
  • Cellulose-based materials
  • Polymer Engineering, Nanotechnology
  • Colloidal science.

Bohua Ren

Photo of Yebin Lee

Email: b5ren@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E6-2106

Research Areas:

  • Multi-scale Simulation
  • Electrochemistry
  • Electrode Engineering

Dylan Jubinville

Photo of Dylan Jubinville

Email: djubinvi@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E6-5114

Research Areas:

  • Sustainable polymers
  • Chemical modification
  • Thermo-mechanical degradation
  • Nanotechnology
  • Highly filled composite

Guobin Wen

Photo of Guobin Wen

Email: g5wen@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E6-2106

Research Areas:

  • Electrochemistry
  • Electrode Engineering
  • CO2 conversion

Guowei (Will) Chen

Lei Zhang

Photo of Lei Zhang

Email: l78zhang@uwaterloo.ca

Location: QNC-4612

Research Areas:

  • Peptide Nanotechnology
  • Drug/Gene Delivery
  • Cancer Therapy

Lu Yin

Photo of Lu Yin

Email: lyin@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E6-1012

Research Areas:

  • Functional polymer/macromolecule synthesis
  • Liquid crystal polymers and actuators
  • Supramolecular chirality assembly
  • Underwater adhesive

Maiwen Zhang

Photo of Katayoon Taherkhani

Email: m356zhan@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E6

Research Areas:

  • Carbon materials
  • MXene
  • Lithium ion batteries
  • Sodium ion batteries
  • Zinc-ion batteries

Manila Ozhukil Valappil

Photo of Manila

Email: mozhukil@uwaterloo.ca

Location: QNC-5324

Research Areas:

  • Materials electrochemistry
  • Electrochemical Energy Conversion
  • 2D Materials

M. Reza Roushan

Photo of M. Reza Roushan

Email: mrrousha@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E6-4140

Research Areas:

  • Genome engineering
  • CRISPR/Cas technology
  • Microalgae
  • Cellular and Molecular Biology

Mohammed Hafedh Awad

Photo of Mohammed Hafedh Awad

Email: m9awad@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E6-4112

Research Areas:

  • Polymer Processing
  • Polymer science and engineering (Synthesis and polymer degradation)
  • Statistical modeling in engineering and sciences
  • Wastewater treatment and PFAS removal
  • Enhanced oil recovery

Rasool Nasseri

Photo of Nasseri

Email: rnasseri@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E6-5108

Research Areas:

  • Soft robotics
  • Anisotropic soft materials
  • Stimuli responsive hydrogels

Ravinder Singh

Photo of Ravinder Singh

Email: r48singh@uwaterloo.ca

Location: QNC-B606

Research Areas

  • Opto-Electronics Materials
  • Sensory Materials (OTFT, Chemo-/Bio-Sensors)
  • AIEgens (i.e., Type-I ROS PSs, Energy-Transfer (ET), and AIE-TADF/LSCs)
  • Photo/Stimuli-Responsive Supramolecular Materials, 
  • Mechanically Interlocked (MIMs)
  • Metal-Organic Frameworks (MOFs)
  • N-Heterocyclic potent drug molecules
  • Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients (APIs) 

Ritu Kumar

Photo of Dr. Ritu Kumar

Email: ritu.kumar@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E6-2104

Research Areas:

  • Hydrogen production
  • Water splitting
  • Lithium-ion batteries
  • Electric vehicles

Tingzhou Yang

Photo of Tingzhou Yang

Email: t43yang@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E6-2102

Research Areas:

  • Sustainable Energy Storage
  • Conversion Devices

Yebin Lee

Photo of Yebin Lee

Email: y278lee@uwaterloo.ca

Location: QNC-5614

Research Areas:

  • Nanocellulose
  • Surface chemistry
  • Metal nanostructure
  • Antimicrobial system
  • Printed electronics

Zhen Zhang

Placeholder image (photo of Zhen not available)

Email: z622zhan@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E6

Research Areas:

  • Nanomaterials
  • CO2 utilization
  • Catalysis
  • Electrocatalysis
  • Zinc-air batteries
  • Lithium-sulfur batteries
  • Electrochemistry

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Ezgi Demircan Ozelcaglayan

Photo of Ezgi Demircan Ozelcaglayan

Email: edemirca@uwaterloo.ca

Research Areas:

  • Micropollutant removal
  • Wastewater
  • Computational chemistry
  • Nanoadsorbents

Hak-Hyeon Kim

Photo of Hak-Hyeon Kim

Email: h379kim@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E2-3304

Research Areas:

  • Water treatment
  • Per- and polyfluorinated alkyl substances
  • Environmental catalysis

Jaber Taheri-Shakib

Photo of Jaber Taheri-Shakib

Email: jtaheris@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E2-2352D

Research Areas:

  • Concrete
  • Asphalt
  • Corrosion
  • X-ray computed tomography
  • Surface Phenomena
  • Image Analysis

Jonathan Romero-Cuellar

Photo of Jonathan Romero-Cuellar

Email: jromeroc@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E2-3316

Research Areas:

  • Uncertainty analysis
  • Probabilistic predictions
  • Climate change
  • Hydrological modelling

Mohammad J. Tolou Kian

Photo of Hak-Hyeon Kim

Email: mj2tolou@uwaterloo.ca

Location: Waterloo

Research Areas:

  • Fracture Mechanics in Bridge Structures

Qiangqiang Shangguan

Photo of Shangguan

Email: qshanggu@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E2-2352C

Research Areas:

  • Road safety
  • Driving behavior
  • Traffic conflict approach
  • Driving simulation

Sara Maleki

Photo

Email: e2maleki@uwaterloo.ca

Location: Civil and Environmental Engineering Department

Research Areas:

  • Wastewater/sludge treatment
  • Membrane fouling
  • Energy recovery
  • Bioenergy 

Shenglin Wang

Photo of Hak-Hyeon Kim

Email: s545wang@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E2-2344E

Research Areas:

  • Pavement design and management
  • Material testing and modeling
  • Numerical analysis

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Abdalla Hussein

Hassan Nahas

Photo of Hassan Nahas

Email: hnahas@uwaterloo.ca

Location: EIT-4133

Research Areas:

  • Ultrasound medical imaging
  • In vivo flow quantification
  • Hardware acceleration
  • Deep learning
  • Imaging systems

Haseen Rahman Cheriyandilakath

Photo of Katayoon Taherkhani

Email: hrcheriy@uwaterloo.ca

Location: EIT-4143

Research Areas:

  • Wireless Communication
  • 5G and beyond
  • Optimization
  • Information Theory

Hojatollah Zamani

Photo of Ezgi Demircan Ozelcaglayan

Email: hzamani@uwaterloo.ca

Location: DC-2371

Research Areas:

  • Signal processing
  • Machine Learning
  • Communication
  • Optimization

Irfani Ausri

Photo

Email: i2ausri@uwaterloo.ca

Research Areas:

  • Nanotechnology
  • Wearable diagnostics
  • Microneedle sensor
  • Clinical translation

Jean B. Klamti

Photo of Ezgi Demircan Ozelcaglayan

Email: jbklamti@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E7-5416

Research Areas:

  • Cryptography (Post-quantum cryptography and provable security,...)
  • Error-corrector Codes
  • Blockchain Technology
  • Cryptocurrencies
  • Information Theory
  • Cybersecurity
  • Computational Algebra

Jiayan Qiu

Photo of Jiayan Qiu

Email: j4qiu@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E7

Research Areas:

  • Computer Vision
  • Machine Learning
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Image Processing

Jonathas Haniel

Photo of Jonathas Haniel

Email: jonathashaniel@uwaterloo.ca

Location: EIT-3023

Research Areas:

  • Bioengineering
  • Doppler Ultrasound
  • Computational Fluid Dynamics
  • Physics-informed neural networks

Mohammad Soltani

Photo of Mohammad Soltani

Email: m9soltan@uwaterloo.ca

Location: QNC-2209

Research Areas:

  • Micro/Nanofabrication
  • Nanophotonics
  • Quantum photonics
  • Quantum computing
  • Superconducting Quantum device
  • Metamaterials and Metasurfaces

Rubayet Al Maruf

Photo of Rubayet Al Maruf

Email: ralmaruf@uwaterloo.ca

Location: QNC-214

Research Areas:

  • Quantum Communication
  • Nanowire Quantum Dot
  • Quantum Optics
  • Metasurface

Sasan V. Grayli

Photo of Sasan V. Grayli

Email: svosoogh@uwaterloo.ca

Location: RAC-1121

Research Areas:

  • Plasmonics
  • Nanophotonics
  • Metamaterials and Metasurfaces
  • Quantum Plasmonics
  • Quantum Photonics

Shazzad Rassel

Photo of Shazzad Rassel

Email: srassel@uwaterloo.ca

Location: QNC

Research Areas:

  • Mid-infrared laser
  • LED
  • Photoacoustic spectroscopy

Management Science & Engineering

Dongling Cai

Photo of Dongling Cai

Email: d32cai@uwaterloo.ca

Location: CPH-4309

Research Areas:

  • Supply chain management
  • Game theory

Mechanical & Mechatronics Engineering

Adib Salandari-Rabori

Adib

Email: asalanda@uwaterloo.ca 

Location: E3-3101G

Research Areas:

  • Thermo-mechanical Processing of Metallic Alloys
  • Advanced Materials Characterization
  • Microstructural Characterization
  • Microstructure-Properties Relationship
  • Metals Additive Manufacturing
  • Fracture and Failure Analysis
  • Welding Metallurgy

Ahad Shafiee

Photo of Ahad Shafiee

Email: a8shafie@uwaterloo.ca 

Location: E3-3101D

Research Areas:

  • Materials processing
  • Materials characterization
  • Welding of AHHS
  • High Entropy Alloys
  • Additive manufacturing

Aleksander Rycman

Photo of Aleksander Rycman

Email: alrycman@uwaterloo.ca

Location: EC4-1107.26

Research Areas:

  • Injury biomechanics
  • Finite element modelling
  • Human body model
  • Soft tissue mechanics

Andrew Gryguc

Photo of andrew

Email: agryguc@uwaterloo.ca

Location:  E7 1401A

Research Areas:

  • Fatigue
  • Forging
  • Magnesium
  • Automotive
  • Digital Image Correlation
  • Material Modelling

Beant Kaur Billing

Photo of Beant Kaur Billing

Email: bkbillin@uwaterloo.ca

Location: Ballard Power Systems, BC

Research Areas:

  • Fuel cells
  • PEMFC
  • RDE
  • MEA
  • Catalyst synthesis
  • Characterization

Chen Sun

Photo of Sun

Email: c87sun@uwaterloo.ca

Location: DC-2718

Research Areas:

  • Autonomous Driving
  • Safety monitoring
  • Robust decision-making
  • Fault diagnosis

Jeong-woo Han

Photo of Woo

Email: jeong-woo.han@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E7-3439

Research Areas:

  • Autonomous mobile robot
  • Mobile manipulator
  • Motion planning
  • Robot control

Jun Li

Photo of Jun Li

Email: j848li@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E3-3101E

Research Areas:

  • Microfluidics and nanofluidics
  • Iontronics
  • Electrokitics
  • Surface science

Katayoon Taherkhani

Photo of Katayoon Taherkhani

Email: ktaherkhani@uwaterloo.ca

Location: EC4-1029

Research Areas:

  • Additive Manufacturing
  • In-situ Monitoring
  • System Identification
  • Machine Learning
  • Closed-Loop Controller

Mazyar Ansari

Photo of Mazyar Ansari

Email: m6ansari@uwaterloo.ca

Location: EC4

Research Areas:

  • Additive Manufacturing
  • Physics-Based Computational Modeling
  • Process-Structure-Properties Relationships

Nas Koksal

photo of nas koksol

Email: nkoksal@uwaterloo.ca

Research Areas:

  • Control theory
  • Advanced (adaptive/optimal/nonlinear) control design
  • System identification
  • State estimation
  • Machine learning

Nazmul Huda

Photo of Nazmul Huda

Email: n2huda@uwaterloo.ca

Research Areas:

  • Pipeline welding (Gas Metal Arc Welding, Submerged Arc welding, Hybrid laser welding)
  • Automotive welding: (Resistance spot welding, cold metal transfer welding-brazing)
  • Rotary friction welding and Linear friction welding for nuclear application

Paule Lapeyre

Photo of Dongling Cai

Email: plapeyre@uwaterloo.ca

Location: WatLIT

Research Areas:

  • Radiative transfers
  • Optical imaging
  • Imaging Fourier-transform spectrometer
  • Spectroscopy
  • Inverse analysis

Paulo D'angelo

Photo of Paulo

Email: pd2costa@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E5 3165

Research Areas:

  • Arc welding process
  • Mechanical Properties of Welds join
  • Additive Manufacturing
  • Metal Ultrasound Test

Pedram Samadian

Photo of Pedram Samadian

Email: p2samadi@uwaterloo.ca

Location: EC4-1127

Research Areas:

  • Hot stamping of advanced high strength steels and aluminum alloys
  • Flow, formability, and fracture characterization of sheet metals
  • Microstructure-based modelling of deformation behavior of multi-phase materials
  • Finite element simulation of thermomechanical processes

Sagar Patel

Shams Anwar

Photo of Shams Anwar

Email: s2anwar@uwaterloo.ca

Location: ERC-3026

Research Areas:

  • Hydrogen Fuel Cells
  • Energy Storage
  • Intelligent Coating

Sudip Shyam

Photo of Sudip Shyam

Email: s3shyam@uwaterloo.ca

Location: QNC-4602

Research Areas:

  • Experimental Microfluidics
  • Heat transfer
  • Fluid mechanics

Utsab Banerjee

Image of Utsab Banerjee

Email: utsab.banerjee@uwaterloo.ca

Location: QNC-3614

Research Areas:

  • Wetting and interfacial science
  • Microfluidics
  • Magnetofluidics

Xin Zeng

Photo of Katayoon Taherkhani

Email: x65zeng@uwaterloo.ca

Location: ERC-3026

Research Areas:

  • Fuel Cells
  • Water Electrolyzer
  • Green Hydrogen
  • Catalyst Synthesis 

Yu Wang

Photo of Katayoon Taherkhani

Email: yu.wang2@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E3-4404

Research Areas:

  • Light metal extrusion
  • Die design optimization
  • Finite element analysis
  • Material characterization

School of Architecture

Anwar Jaber

Photo of Anwar Jaber

Email: a5jaber@uwaterloo.ca

Location: Cambridge Campus

Research Areas:

  • Urban conflicts, wars and cities
  • Social and political aspects of architecture and urbanism
  • Critical history and theory
  • Islamic Architecture
  • Middle East and Arab urbanism
  • Cities of the global south

Systems Design Engineering

Ali Nasr

Photo of Ali Nasr

Email: a5nasr@uwaterloo.ca

Location:  E3-3168

Research Areas:

  • Intelligent Autonomous Systems
  • Robotics
  • Multibody System Dynamics
  • Biomechatronics
  • Sport Engineering

Channprit Kaur

Photo

Email: c8kaur@uwaterloo.ca

Location: Photomedicine Labs

Research Areas:

  • Laser matter interaction- Experimental and simulations
  • Optical microscopic techniques
  • Photoacoustic remote sensing

Dibakar Mondal

Photo of Dibakar

Email: d2mondal@uwaterloo.ca

Location: DWE 2518c

Research Areas:

  • Biomaterials
  • Nanocomposite
  • Additive Manufacturing
  • Bone Tissue Engineering
  • Biodegradation

Ilknur Umay

Photo of Xinwei Chen

Email: iumay@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E7-6332

Research Areas:

  • Task and motion planning of multi-robot manipulation
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Biomedical robotics
  • Control and automation
  • Localization and mapping

Poornima Unnikrishnan

Photo

Email: p2unnikr@uwaterloo.ca

Location: E7-6358

Research Areas:

  • Time Series Modeling
  • Hydrology
  • Optimisation techniques
  • AI techniques
  • Extreme events analysis
  • Artificial intelligence modelling
  • Singular spectrum analysis
  • Stochastic Programing
  • Geographic information systems and geospatial modelling
  • Atmospheric moisture tracking
  • Characterising and modelling ocean-aquifer interactions

Saed Moradi

Photo of Saed Moradi

Email: s2moradi@uwaterloo.ca

Location: EC4-2008A

Research Areas:

  • Computer Vision
  • Digital Image Processing

Xinwei Chen

Photo of Xinwei Chen

Email: x35chen@uwaterloo.ca

Location: EC4-2041N

Research Areas:

  • Remote sensing
  • Computer vision
  • Sea ice
  • Ocean observation

Yuan Fang

Photo of Yuan Fang

Email: y227fang@uwaterloo.ca

Location: EC4-2041J

Research Areas:

  • Remote sensing
  • Hyperspectral image processing
  • Machine learning
  • Environmental monitoring

Yuhao Chen

Photo of Yuhao Chen

Email: yuhao.chen1@uwaterloo.ca

Location: EC4

Research Areas:

  • Computer Vision
  • Machine Learning
  • Deep Learning
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Precision Manufacturing
  • Precision Health

Zahra Gharaee

Photo

Email: zahra.gharaee@uwaterloo.ca

Location: EC4

Research Areas:

  • Machine Learning
  • Computer Vision
  • Pattern Recognition
  • Representation Learning
  • Artificial Intelligence