Engineering faculty, staff and alumni honoured

Friday, October 7, 2011

Waterloo Engineering achievements were recognized October 6 at the Faculty of Engineering dinner. The Faculty of Engineering Teaching Excellence Award was presented to Christine Moresoli of chemical engineering, Bob McKillop of civil and environmental engineering and Ehsan Toyserkani of mechanical and mechatronics engineering.

There were four Faculty of Engineering Research Awards presented this year. The En-hui Yang Engineering Research Innovation Award was presented to Alexander Penlidis of chemical engineering. The Engineering Research Excellence Award in the assistant professor category was received by Zhongwei Chen of chemical engineering; the Engineering Research Excellence Award in the associate professor category was awarded to Hany Aziz of electrical and computer engineering; and the Engineering Research Excellence Award in the professor category was received by Wayne Brodland of civil and environmental engineering.

Donna Woolcott of the School of Architecture and Robert Kraemer of the Engineering Machine Shop were honoured with the Faculty of Engineering Outstanding Staff Award. Woolcott was recognized in the award’s administrative staff category and Kraemer in the technical staff category.

The Friend of the Faculty Award, two Young Alumni Achievement Medals, two Alumni Achievement Medals and one Team Alumni Achievement Medal were also presented. The Friend of the Faculty Award was presented to Conestoga- Rovers and Associates in recognition of the company’s strong support of Waterloo Engineering through the ongoing hiring of graduates and co-op students and generous financial support. The Young Alumni Achievement Medal was awarded to Sheldon Fernandez (BASc ’01, computer), co-founder and director of Infusion Development Canada, and Kurtis McBride (BASc ’04, MASc ’08, systems design), co-founder and CEO of Miovision Technologies.

The Alumni Achievement Medal in the professional achievement category was awarded to Steve Matusch (BASc ’91, systems design), founder and president of Ionic Engineering and The Alumni Achievement Medal in the community service category was presented to Nityanand (Nitya) Varma (MASc ’64, civil; MASc ’70, management sciences) in recognition of his numerous community service roles in Ottawa, Nepean and other Ontario communities. And the Team Alumni Achievement Medal was received by Brigitte Shim (BES ’81, BArch ’83) and Howard Sutcliffe (BES ’83, BArch ’83), co-founders of Shim-Sutcliffe Architects.