Lab Safety Committee

Lab Safety Committee terms of reference

The Laboratory Safety Committee's (LSC) overall responsibility is to monitor the use of radionuclides, biohazardous materials, chemicals, lasers, x-rays and other safety issues related to teaching and research laboratories*. The Committee is advisory to the Vice-President, University Research, and to the Safety Office and provides the following functions:

  • Oversee strategies to ensure ongoing and adequate surveillance, hazard identification, and risk evaluation of laboratory related activities
  • Assess requirements for laboratory users training and laboratory safety procedures. Recommends revisions, when indicated
  • Review reports related to laboratory safety services, activities, incidents, and interventions in laboratory areas. Recommends corrective actions, when indicated
  • Maintain subcommittees based on areas of expertise to receive, review and approve reports and applications required by legislation and regulatory agencies
  • Report as required to the Vice-President, University Research

Membership of the Committee will include:

  • Appointments by Vice-President, University Research, in consultation with faculty deans:

8 - Faculty members with the following areas of laboratory expertise appointed for renewable three-year terms:

  • 2 - radionuclides (subcommittee required)
  • 2 - biohazards (subcommittee required)
  • 2 - chemicals
  • 2 - lasers and x-rays

2 – Faculty laboratory directors/managers - renewable three-year terms

Ex-officio members will include:

  • Director, Health Services or designate
  • Director, Office of Research Ethics or designate
  • Director, Safety Office or designate
  • Safety Officer, Safety Office
  • Committee Chair is appointed by the Vice-President, University Research.
  • Committee will meet at least annually and as required.
  • The Safety Office will provide secretarial services to the Committee.