Welcome to the Safety Office


Health, Safety and Environment at Waterloo

The Safety Office provides consultation and support services to the University community on matters relating to environmental and occupational health and safety.

Our purpose

  1. Support the University’s strategic goals through the delivery of effective, efficient, and comprehensive health, safety and environmental program services;

  1. Facilitate successful endeavours by all members of the University community by advising on establishing the healthiest and safest work and educational environment reasonably attainable; and

  1. Ensure that persons accountable for University operations are fully and properly informed of the legal and regulatory health, safety and environmental compliance risks and requirements, and providing advice to those persons on those risks and requirements.

Mandatory Training

Upcoming classroom training

Date Time Location
SO1050 Ladder Safety
Friday, February 10, 2017 9:00 am - 10:00 am COM 112D
     
SO1019 Job Safety Analysis
Date Time Location
Tuesday, MArch 7, 2017 9:00 am - 12 pm COM 112D
Date Time Location
SO1003 Supervisor Training Session
Thursday, January 19, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Tuesday, February 14, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Tuesday, March 21, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Thursday, April 20, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
SO1007 Workplace Inspections
Date Time Location
Friday January 27, 2017 9:00 - 12:00 COM 112D
Thursday February 9, 2017 9:00 - 12:00 COM 112D
Friday March 31, 2017 9:00 - 12:00 COM 112D
Date Time Location
SO1012 Incident Investigation Session
Thursday, January 26, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Thursday, February 16, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Thursday, March 23, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Wednesday, April 26, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
SO2016 Safe Chemical Handling
Date Time Location
Wednesday, January 11, 2017 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm COM112D
Wednesday, January 18, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM112D
Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Cancelled

Cancelled
Tuesday, February 7, 2017 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm COM112D
Wednesday, March 1, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM112D
Thursday, April 6, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM112D

Register online for classroom sessions not online sessions.

Registration for courses is done through myHRinfo. To register for the course follow the steps listed below: After logging in:

  • Log on to myHRinfo.
  • Select "Self Service".
  • Locate "Learning and Development".
  • Select "Request Training Enrolment".
  • Select "Search by course" and enter course name OR number.
  • To see what sessions are available click "View available sessions".
  • Note - Courses without a minimum number of 6 students enrolled may be cancelled the day before it is scheduled to occur.  If you are registered for a cancelled course, you will receive an email notification.

For additional help, follow the instructions on using Self Service.

Location

The Safety Office is located in the Commissary (COM) Building. Our entrance faces the Ring Road, next to Police & Parking Services.