Welcome to the Safety Office


Health, Safety and Environment at Waterloo

The Safety Office provides consultation and support services to the University community on matters relating to environmental and occupational health and safety.

Our purpose

  1. Support the University’s strategic goals through the delivery of effective, efficient, and comprehensive health, safety and environmental program services;

  1. Facilitate successful endeavours by all members of the University community by advising on establishing the healthiest and safest work and educational environment reasonably attainable; and

  1. Ensure that persons accountable for University operations are fully and properly informed of the legal and regulatory health, safety and environmental compliance risks and requirements, and providing advice to those persons on those risks and requirements.

New and upcoming training courses

Upcoming classroom training

SO1019 Job safety Analysis
Date Time Location
Wednesday, September 21, 2016 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
SO2021 Business Impact Analysis
Date Time Location
Tuesday, May 17, 2016 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm COM 112D
Thursday, May 19, 2016 9:30 am - 11:00 am COM 112D
Friday, May 27, 2016 9:30 am - 11:00 am COM 112D
Monday, May 30, 2016 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm COM 112D
Friday, June 3, 2016 9:30 am - 11:00 am COM 112D
Monday, June 6, 2016 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm COM 112D
Friday, June 10, 2016 9:30 am - 11:00 am COM 112D
SO1003 Supervisor Training Sessions
Tuesday, June 28, 2016 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Tuesday, July 26, 2016 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Thursday, September 22, 2016 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Thursday, October 20, 2016 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Tuesday, November 15, 2016 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
SO1007 Workplace Inspections
Date Time Location
Wednesday July 20th, 2016 9:00 - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Friday August 19th, 2016 9:00 - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Thursday October 27th, 2016 9:00 - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Friday November 18th, 2016 9:00 - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Date Time Location
SO1012 Incident Investigation Sessions
Thursday, June 30, 2016 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Thursday, July 28, 2016 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Thursday, September 29, 2016 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Tuesday, October 25, 2016 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Wednesday, November 23, 2016 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
SO2016 Safe Chemical Handling
Date Time Location
June 13, 2016 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
October 6, 2016 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
November 9, 2016 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D

Register online for classroom sessions not online sessions.

Registration for courses is done through myHRinfo. To register for the course follow the steps listed below: After logging in:

  • Log on to myHRinfo.
  • Select "Self Service".
  • Locate "Learning and Development".
  • Select "Request Training Enrolment".
  • Select "Search by course" and enter course name OR number.
  • To see what sessions are available click "View available sessions".

For additional help, follow the instructions on using Self Service.

Location

The Safety Office is located in the Commissary (COM) Building. Our entrance faces the Ring Road, next to Police & Parking Services.