Welcome to the Safety Office


Health, Safety and Environment at Waterloo

The Safety Office provides consultation and support services to the University community on matters relating to environmental and occupational health and safety.

Our purpose

  1. Support the University’s strategic goals through the delivery of effective, efficient, and comprehensive health, safety and environmental program services;

  1. Facilitate successful endeavours by all members of the University community by advising on establishing the healthiest and safest work and educational environment reasonably attainable; and

  1. Ensure that persons accountable for University operations are fully and properly informed of the legal and regulatory health, safety and environmental compliance risks and requirements, and providing advice to those persons on those risks and requirements.

Mandatory Training

Upcoming classroom training

Date Time Location
SO1003 Supervisor Training Session
Tuesday, August 1, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Wednesday, October 25, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Thursday, November 16, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
SO1007 Workplace Inspections
Date Time Location
Thursday July 27, 2017 9:00 - 12:00 COM 112D
Friday August 18, 2017 9:00 - 12:00 COM 112D
Thursday October 5, 2017 9:00 - 12:00 COM 112D
Friday November 3, 2017 9:00 - 12:00 COM 112D
Date Time Location
SO1012 Incident Investigation Session
Thursday, August 3, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Wednesday, September 20, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Thursday, October 12, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
SO2016 Safe Chemical Handling
Date Time Location
Wednesday, May 10, 2017 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm COM112D​
Tuesday, May 16, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM112D​
Thursday, June 22, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM112D​
Tuesday, July 11, 2017 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm CANCELLED
Date Time Location
SO1019 Job Safety Analysis
Wednesday, August 9, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Thursday, September 13, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Tuesday, October 24, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
Thursday, November 9, 2017 9:00 am - 12:00 pm COM 112D
SO1050 Ladder Safety
Date Time Location
Wednesday, September 13, 2017 9:30 am - 10:30 am COM 112D
Tuesday, October 3, 2017 9:30 am - 10:30 am COM 112D

Register online for classroom sessions.

Registration for courses is done through myHRinfo. To register for the course follow the steps listed below: After logging in:

  • Log on to myHRinfo.
  • Select "Self Service".
  • Locate "Learning and Development".
  • Select "Request Training Enrolment".
  • Select "Search by course" and enter course name OR number.
  • To see what sessions are available click "View available sessions".
  • Note - Courses without a minimum number of 6 students enrolled may be cancelled the day before it is scheduled to occur.  If you are registered for a cancelled course, you will receive an email notification.

For additional help, follow the instructions on using Self Service.

Location

The Safety Office is located in the Commissary (COM) Building. Our entrance faces the Ring Road, next to Police & Parking Services.