THIS SITE

You are here

Training

The Safety Office serves as the primary resource for health and safety training for staff, faculty and students, offering various ongoing and specialty training programs.

In house training is offered in online and classroom formats.

Specialty training that is not listed on the Safety Office's Training Programs web page can be arranged for departments and individuals.  Please contact the Safety Office for additional information.  Please note that any costs associated with specialty training must be covered by the individual or Department.

The Safety Office maintains records of safety-related training for all employees and students at uWaterloo.  If you have received training from an outside provider that was not arranged through the Safety Office please contact the us so that training records can be updated appropriately.

It is the responsibility of each Department and supervisor to ensure that employees, students and volunteers receive training that is appropriate to the hazards present in their area of work/study.

To assist Departments and Supervisors please refer to our training matrix.  The matrix is in .xlsx format and can be modified to suit individual Department needs.

Upcoming training


Scheduled Classroom Training Sessions

SO1007 Workplace Inspections
Date Time Location
Thursday, February 1, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
Friday, March 9, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
Thursday, April 12, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
SO1003 Supervisor Safety Orientation
Date Time Location
Thursday, January 18, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
Thursday, February 15, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
Thursday, March 15, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
Thursday, April 19, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
SO1012 Incident Investigation
Date Time Location
Thursday, January 25, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
Thursday, February 22, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
Thursday, March 22, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
Thursday, April 26, 2017 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
SO1019 Job Hazard Analysis
Date Time Location
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
Thursday, March 29, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
Wednesday, April 25, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
SO1050 Ladder Safety
Date Time Location
Friday, February 16, 2018 10:00am - 11:00am COM 112D
SO2016 Safe Chemical Handling
Date Time Location
Wednesday, January 10th, 2018 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm COM 112D
Tuesday, January 23rd, 2018 9:00am - 12:00pm COM 112D
Thursday, February 8th, 2018 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm COM 112D
Friday, March 16th, 2018 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm COM 112D

Download training matrix (.xlxs)

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)