Three professors named to Canada Research Chairs

Thursday, November 17, 2022

Two professors at Waterloo Engineering were announced this week as new Canada Research Chairs. A third has had their funding through the federal program renewed for a further five years.

Dr. Nandita Basu and Dr. Carolyn Ren are tier one chairs and Dr. Stephen Smith is a tier two chair. All three chairs are supported through the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC).

Nandita Basu, a professor jointly appointed between civil and environmental engineering and earth and environmental sciences, is the new Canada Research Chair in Global Water Sustainability and Ecohydrology with $1.4 million in funding over seven years.

Carolyn Ren, a professor of mechanical and mechatronics engineering, is the new Canada Research Chair in Microfluidic Technologies with $1.4 million in funding over seven years.

Stephen Smith, a professor of electrical and computing engineering, will receive $500,000 over five years to continue their work as the Canada Research Chair in Autonomous Systems.

The federal government announced an investment of more than $139 million in funding to support 176 new or renewed chairs at 46 institutions across the country.

“Canada’s researchers shed light on some of the world’s most complex challenges to help shape better social and health systems, strengthen the economy, and foster prosperity for Canadians,” the government said in a media release this week.

See the full list of Waterloo Engineering Research Chairs.