Filter by:

Limit to items where the date of the news item:
Date range
Limit to items where the date of the news item:
Limit to news where the title matches:
Limit to news items tagged with one or more of:
Limit to news items where the audience is one or more of:

The next big innovation to hit the marketplace could be among the Waterloo student projects on display at the annual Capstone Design symposia beginning March 16. 

Senior-year engineering students at Waterloo will exhibit projects ranging from a technology that reduces agricultural water waste through intelligent irrigation systems to a device that may help people with Parkinson`s disease avoid falls.

Two management engineering teams won the top two awards in the undergraduate category at this year's Canadian Operations Research Society (CORS) 2015 Student Paper Competition held in Montreal.  A third team placed in the competition's top five. All the students' papers were also their 2015 Waterloo Engineering Capstone Design projects.

David Brush, a civil and environmental engineering lecturer, is the first recipient of Waterloo Engineering Society's Engineering Society David BrushTeaching Excellence Award introduced to promote and reward faculty or staff's outstanding contributions toward undergraduate learning.
Honourable mentions were received by Mark Smucker, a management sciences pr

Samir Elhedhli is the winner of the 2013 Canadian Operations Research Society (CORS) Service Award, which recognizes members of the society who have made outstanding contributions of time and service to it. The Waterloo Management Sciences Professor was President of the society for the 2011-2012 year. He also served as a CORS Councillor from 2007 to 2009, the Education Chair from 2007 to 2010 and as the Program Chair for the 2012 Joint CORS/MOPGP Conference held in Niagara Falls.

Two Waterloo Engineering professors have been appointed to senior university positions.  Flora Ng, a chemical engineering professor and a University Professor, became chair of the University Appointments Review Committee as of June 1, 2013.  Her appointment is for a three-year term.  Beth Jewkes, a management sciences professor and a past chair of the management sciences department, will become the university's associate provost, resources as of August 1, 2013.

Engineering students dominated the University of Waterloo men’s curling team that earned national gold with a 7-5 victory over the University of Alberta Golden Bears in Kamloops, B.C.

Skip Jake Walker, a fourth-year electrical engineering student, second Jordan Moreau, a management engineering student, third Edward Cyr, a mechanical engineering master's student, and alternate Nathan Ransom, an undergraduate mechanical engineering student, and other members of the team, captured top spot in the 2013 Men’s Curling Championship in a rematch of last year's finals.

Winners of the 2012 Waterloo Engineering awards were celebrated at  the annual Faculty of Engineering dinner held October 4.

Sanjeev Bedi of mechanical and mechatronics engineering, Mark Pritzker of chemical engineering, and Mark Smucker of management sciences received the Faculty's Teaching Excellence Award, which recognizes outstanding teaching and commitment to the enrichment of Waterloo Engineering education.