Profs awarded chairs and funds from Canadian govt.

Monday, March 18, 2024

Waterloo Engineering research received a boost from the Innovation Fund under the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) and the Canada Research Chairs (CRC) program. 

Dr. Dipanjan Basu, a civil and environmental engineering professor, Dr. Kaan Erkorkmaz and Dr. Hamid Jahed, both mechanical and mechatronics engineering professors, Dr. Chris Eliasmith, a philosophy and systems design engineering professor, and Dr. Luis Ricardez-Sandoval, a chemical engineering professor, were awarded over $19 million in funds to support their research projects and renewed chairs.   

Basu, Erkorkmaz and Jahed will receive over $17 million in CFI funding.  

Basu’s research focuses on geothermal energy and energy geo-storage and was awarded $2.7 million. 

Erkorkmaz’s research looks at the digital transformation of manufacturing and was awarded $6.4 million. 

Jahed’s research works on cold spray technology in manufacturing and was awarded $8.1 million.  

All three professors are considering applications from graduate students.  

Eliasmith and Ricardez-Sandoval will receive $1.9 million from the CRC program.  

Eliasmith was named the renewed Canada Research Chair in Theoretical Neuroscience, a joint Arts and Engineering chair appointment, and will receive $200,000 per year for seven years.  

Ricardez-Sandoval was named the renewed Tier II Canada Research Chair in Multiscale Modelling and Process Systems and will receive $100,000 per year for five years.  

For a full list of the University’s recipients, read Waterloo researchers awarded more than $37 million.