THIS SITE

Information for

Faculty experts

Grebel faculty expertsGrebel's mission is to seek wisdom, nurture faith, and pursue justice and peace in service to church and society. An important part of this mission includes being a resource to the community in churches, schools, and civil society. 

This guide includes faculty and staff members who are willing to share in community and church settings through lectures, presentations, workshops, adult and youth education, sermons, and as conference speakers. Areas of expertise are listed. Please contact each person directly to inquire about availability.

In addition, Grebel can connect you with musical choirs, instrumental ensembles, a Balinese gamelan ensemble, and student ambassadors who relate well to youth. Other resources to the church and community include: library, archives, Grebel Gallery, continuing education programs, and many events throughout the year.

Download Grebel Faculty Experts Guide (PDF)

Jennifer Ball

Assistant Professor of Peace and Conflict Studies
jennifer.ball@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Circle Process, African Women’s Peacebuilding

​Alicia Batten

Associate Professor of Religious Studies and Theological Studies
abatten@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: New Testament, Religion and Dress, Religion and Visual Art

Jeremy Bergen

Associate Professor of Religious Studies and Theological Studies, 
Director of Theological Studies
jbergen@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: God as Trinity,    Anabaptist/Mennonite Theology, Church Apologies for Historical Wrongs, Preaching from the Lectionary

​Marlene Epp

Dean, Professor of History and Peace and Conflict Studies
mgepp@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Mennonite History, Mennonite Women, Refugees, 
Food and Culture

Lowell Ewert

Associate Professor of Peace and Conflict Studies
lmewert@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Human Rights and Peace, Importance of the Bystander, Law and Peace

Nathan Funk

Associate Professor of Peace and Conflict Studies, Chair of PACS
nfunk@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Religion in Conflict and Peacemaking, The Middle East, Sustained Dialogue 

Laura Gray

​Associate Professor of Music, Chair of Music
ljgray@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Faith and the Arts

Reina Neufeldt

​Assistant Professor of Peace and Conflict Studies
reina.neufeldt@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Peacebuilding, Mennonite Identity and Land Conflict, Ethics of Peace and Development Practice, Global Mennonite Peacebuilding

​Troy Osborne

Associate Professor of History
t3osborne@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Church History, Anabaptism, Mennonite History, The Reformation

Carol Penner

​Assistant Professor of Theological Studies
c2penner@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Equipping Worship Leaders, Equipping for Pastoral Care, Theology and Abuse/Boundaries/Safe Place Policies, Feminist Theology, Significance of Lament

Derek Suderman

​Associate Professor of Religious Studies and Theological Studies
dsuderman@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Leading Dynamic Bible Studies, Jonah, The Bible and Environmentalism, Reading the Bible alongside First Nations Peoples, Significance of Lament

Maisie Sum

Assistant Professor of Music
msum@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Music and Culture, Music: Health and Wellbeing, Music and Migration, Music and Community, Hands-on Balinese Music Workshop

Karen Sunabacka

​Associate Professor of Music
karen.sunabacka@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Music Composition and Theory

Mark Vuorinen

​Assistant Professor of Music
mvuorinen@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Sacred Music, Hymnody, Music and Social Justice/Peace
 

OTHER GREBEL RESOURCE PEOPLE

Laureen Harder-Gissing

​Archivist-Librarian; Director, Institute of Anabaptist and Mennonite Studies
lharderg@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Ontario Mennonite History, Archives, Keeping/writing Congregational History

Paul Heidebrecht

​Director, Kindred Credit Union Centre for Peace Advancement, 
Adjunct Assistant Professor
pheidebrecht@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Incubating Peace, Peace Entrepreneurship, Political Advocacy, Technology and Ethics

Ed Janzen

​Chaplain, Adjunct Lecturer
ejjanzen@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Bible Study, Sexuality, Young Adults, Worship

Jane Kuepfer

​Schlegel Specialist in Spirituality and Aging
jane.kuepfer@uwaterloo.ca
EXPERTISE: Spirituality and Aging, Dementia in Community, Death and Dying, Spiritual Practices


Media inquires may be directed to faculty experts or to Jennifer Konkle, Marketing and Communications Manger.

Download Grebel Faculty Experts Guide (PDF)