Information for


All Grebel students must be registered through Waterloo.

The University of Waterloo offers 100+ undergraduate programs, 190 graduate and doctoral programs.

You can also complete classes without ever setting foot on campus through Waterloo's Centre for Extended Learning. There are more than 250 courses in 48 subject areas, several of which you can complete online.

Students at Waterloo have the option of studying year-round in 3 terms fall (September-December), winter (January-April) and spring (May-August).

Waterloo offers two different systems of study: the regular system and the co-operative system. In the regular system, students follow the conventional eight-month academic year from September to April; in the co-operative system students alternate academic terms on campus with work terms off campus in business, industry and government.

Visit Waterloo's admissions website to find out more.

University of Waterloo

Founded in 1957, Waterloo is one of Canada's leading comprehensive universities, with strong teaching and research programs in Applied Health Sciences, Arts, Engineering, Environmental Studies, Mathematics, and Science. Waterloo is known for pioneering its innovative co-operative education programs.

Waterloo is unique in that it also is home to four university colleges – Conrad Grebel University College, Renison College, St. Jerome's University, and St. Paul's College – increasing the range of academic and residential choices.

National rankings

Waterloo has been ranked the most innovative university in Canada every year for the past quarter century. The Maclean’s 2017 ranking of Canadian universities also named Waterloo second for Best Overall and third for Highest Quality and Leaders of Tomorrow.