ACM fellowship for S. Keshav

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Srinivasan Keshav
Computer Science Professor Srinivasan Keshav is the University of Waterloo’s latest fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). The 2012 ACM fellows were chosen from leading universities and corporations all over the world. Their contributions to computing innovation are advancing technologies in the information age.

Professor Keshav was recognized by the ACM for contributions to computer communication networks and systems. He holds the Canada Research Chair in Tetherless Computing and is the Cisco Chair in Smart Grid. 

"I am very pleased that Professor Keshav has received this well-deserved recognition for his research in computer networks,” says David Taylor, director of the David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science. “As the fifth ACM fellow in the School, he joins a distinguished group of colleagues whose accomplishments have been recognized by the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society."

Over the next several years, Professor Keshav plans to apply his computer networking expertise to the energy sector. Working with fellow academics and industry partners, he will be looking at solutions to large-scale problems in energy systems. Professor Keshav’s research aims to have impact in Canada and around the world.

The ACM fellows “are advancing the art and science of computing with enormous impacts for how we live and work,” said ACM President Vinton G. Cerf. “The impact of their contributions highlights the role of computing in creating advances that range from commonplace applications to extraordinary breakthroughs, and from the theoretical to the practical.” 

Professor Keshav joins four colleagues in the David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science previously honoured as ACM Fellows: Ming Li (2006), Tamer Özsu (2006), Ian Munro (2008) and Frank Tompa (2010).