Information for

You are here


Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Distinguished Professor Emeritus Don Cowan receives CANARIE Award to support surface water research

Don Cowan

Distinguished Professor Emeritus Don Cowan has received a CANARIE Award to expand iEnvironment++, a software platform that supports environmental science and engineering research on surface water. CANARIE, a component of Canada’s digital infrastructure supporting research, education and innovation, yesterday announced 20 successful recipients of its research software funding call.

Friday, October 12, 2018

Faculty of Mathematics students receive half of first-year HeForShe scholarships

Six female students standing facing the camera.

Half of the six first-year students to receive HeForShe IMPACT 10x10x10 scholarships from the University of Waterloo study in the Faculty of Mathematics.

For the three recipients, this scholarship supports more than just their finances – it keeps their focus on their passion.

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Faculty of Mathematics claims almost half of UWaterloo NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplements

Four Faculty of Mathematics researchers, whose research is deemed on the verge of a breakthrough, will receive supplemental funding from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC).

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Matthew Kennedy awarded NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement

Matthew Kennedy

Associate Professor Matthew Kennedy received a $120,000 Discovery Accelerator Supplement from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) for his work within the field of operator algebras.

Friday, September 28, 2018

Waterloo launches the Cybersecurity and Privacy Institute

Symcor employees and Florian Kerschbaum

On Friday, September 27, Waterloo celebrated the launch of the Cybersecurity and Privacy Institute (CPI) with 100 attendees including security leaders from the private and public sectors. CPI was formed to uncover new approaches to security and privacy and educating Canada’s future leaders to be able to understand and respond to emerging online threats. Read the full story.

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

Researchers help to bridge the gap between psychology and gamification

Buttons on a retro arcade video game.

A multi-disciplinary research team is bridging the gap between psychology and gamification that could significantly impact learning efforts in user experience design, healthcare, and government.

The research, conducted by researchers at the University of Waterloo and the University of Minnesota, has integrated models from psychology with human-computer interaction, which allows for a more deliberate, interactive connection between the two disciplines in the understanding of gameful experiences.

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

New blockchain protocol could improve government and corporate procurement

Florian Kerschbaum

A new blockchain tool developed by a researcher at the University of Waterloo and a collaborator at Airbus in Germany could make procurement of goods and services safer and more impartial.

The tool, a blockchain auction protocol that allows for more safe and secure bidding on contracts with companies, so that the online auction is more difficult to hack or manipulate than conventional methods.

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

2018 Loran Scholar pursuing computer science and business at the University of Waterloo

Katherine Gotovsky

Katherine Gotovsky has been named a recipient of Canada’s largest and most comprehensive undergraduate merit award, conferred by the Loran Scholars Foundation.

Friday, September 14, 2018

Yuhao Dong, Woojung Kim and Raouf Boutaba win best student paper award at Blockchain-2018

Yuhao Dong and Raouf Boutaba

Computer science doctoral student Yuhao Dong, master’s student Woojung Kim, along with their supervisor Professor Raouf Boutaba, have received the best student paper award at Blockchain-2018, the 2018 IEEE International Conference on Blockchain.

Get these news items on your student portal

  1. 2018 (82)
    1. October (4)
    2. September (15)
    3. August (10)
    4. July (11)
    5. June (11)
    6. May (9)
    7. April (12)
    8. March (4)
    9. February (2)
    10. January (4)
  2. 2017 (17)
    1. December (2)
    2. November (1)
    3. August (1)
    4. June (2)
    5. May (2)
    6. April (4)
    7. March (2)
    8. February (2)
    9. January (1)
  3. 2016 (17)
    1. November (2)
    2. October (2)
    3. September (2)
    4. August (1)
    5. June (2)
    6. May (2)
    7. April (3)
    8. March (1)
    9. February (2)
  4. 2015 (19)
  5. 2014 (24)
  6. 2013 (25)
  7. 2012 (18)