J.W. Graham Medal in Computing & Innovation

awards banner pink, red, gold with hexagons
J.W. Graham

The J.W. Graham Medal in Computing & Innovation was created in 1994 to recognize the leadership and many innovative contributions made to the University of Waterloo, and to the Canadian computer industry by J. Wesley Graham, during his career as both a professor and university administrator.

The J.W. Graham Medal is awarded annually at the spring convocation to a graduate of the Faculty of Mathematics normally who is currently in business, government, or education and exemplifies many of the qualities shown by Wes Graham during his career.

Award criteria

Nominators are asked to explain in 200-250 words how the nominee has demonstrated one or more of the following characteristics of Wes Graham:

  • Outstanding professional or business contributions
  • Entrepreneurial initiatives
  • Innovations in computing

The selection committee evaluates each candidate for:

  • strong technical background/capability/understanding
  • strong business/entrepreneurial record
  • leadership/innovation in technology/business
  • Example to whom graduating class can relate

Call for Nominations

If you know of a worthy UW Mathematics graduate who, in your opinion, should be considered for the Graham Medal in Computing Innovation, please complete and submit the nomination form online or print the form and mail it to:

Alumni Engagement Program Specialist
Dean of Mathematics Office
University of Waterloo
200 University Avenue West
Waterloo, ON N2L 3G1

Note: Only complete nominations will be accepted.

The Nomination deadline for the 2022 J.W. Graham Medal Medal Award is Friday, April 1, 2022!

Past Recipients

J.W. Graham Medal Selection Committee Members

To view the J. W. Graham Medal Selection Committee Members, click here.