Dean's Message - July 2013

As a result of this past year's Tenure and Promotion process, effective July 1 the following colleagues have been promoted to Professor:

  • Serge D’Alessio (Dean's Office)
  • Hans De Sterck (Applied Mathematics)
  • Jochen Koenemann (Combinatorics & Optimization)
  • Yu-Ru Liu (Pure Mathematics)
  • Ashwin Nayak (Combinatorics & Optimization)

And the following have received tenure and been promoted to Associate Professor:

  • Ricardo Fukasawa (Combinatorics & Optimization)
  • Jesse Hoey (Computer Science (CS))
  • Spiro Karigiannis (Pure Mathematics)

Congratulations to all! Congratulations also to Yu-Ru Liu and Dan Wolczuk, winners of the 2013 Faculty of Mathematics Award for Distinction in Teaching.

Please join the students and me for Pints with Profs at the Bombshelter on July 10 at 4 pm. Personally, I’ve always found it a great event where students and faculty can meet each other outside the classroom.

Welcome to new CS Administrative Support Manager Jackie Hilts and congratulations to Sherry Hartung, who has been in CS on contract and is now permanent as Administrative Coordinator.

It’s great to see our PhD students being recognized for their research! Congratulations to Carol Fung, Tiffany Inglis and Ansis Rosmansis in Computer Science, and Mathieu Guay-Paquet in Combinatorics & Optimization.

Best of luck to the Waterloo Black ACM team as they wrap up the International Collegiate Programming Contest World Finals in St. Petersburg, Russia.

Ian Goulden

Ian Goulden, Dean
Faculty of Mathematics
University of Waterloo