Award for Distinction in Teaching - 2013 winners

Monday, June 24, 2013

Congratulations to Professors Yu-Ru Liu and Dan Wolczuk, winners of the 2013 Faculty of Mathematics Award for Distinction in Teaching!

Professor Liu has achieved consistently excellent student evaluation scores both in first-year core courses and in the fourth-year/graduate Pure Mathematics course on Fields and Galois Theory. Her students have high praise for the preparation, delivery and effectiveness of her teaching.

Professor Wolczuk has taught an incredible array of courses to great student acclaim, thanks to a very deep understanding of the pedagogy and his contagious enthusiasm. His classes have been known to overflow with students from other sections as his popularity spreads.

Chair of the award selection committee, Serge D'Alessio, notes that these exceptional teachers will be recognized at the Fall Faculty Banquet in September for their dedication to the Faculty.

Liu and Wolczuk join twelve past recipients of the Faculty of Mathematics Award for Distinction in Teaching since its inception:

  • 2012 - Stephen New and Levent Tuncel
  • 2011 – J.P. Pretti and Jeffrey Shallit
  • 2010 – Serge D’Alessio and Alfred Menezes
  • 2009 – Ian Goulden and Troy Vasiga
  • 2008 – Robin Cohen and David McKinnon
  • 2007 – Beverly Marshman and Ian VanderBurgh

Nominate your outstanding Faculty of Mathematics teacher for this award!